Budapest, Hungary Sightseeing Part 8

Arpád Bridge (Arpádhíd)
The bridge, built in 1950 and running along the northern edge of Margaret Island, is 928 m long and connects the Pest and Buda districts for road, pedestrian and tram traffic.
Address: Árpád-híd

Bridge (Erzsébet híd) The bridge was built between 1898 and 1903 as a chain bridge and named after the Austrian Empress and Hungarian Queen Elisabeth (Sisi). See findjobdescriptions.
It was blown up on January 18, 1945 when the German troops withdrew. A new and wider steel suspension bridge was built in 1964 on the same site. The old bridge piers were reused. The bridge is 379 m long and 27.6 m
wide. Address: Erzsébet híd


Bridge (Szabadság híd) The bridge was opened to traffic on October 4, 1896. The bridge has a length of 333 m and a width of 20.1 m. The Danube has its deepest point under this bridge.
The planning of the bridge comes from the Hungarian engineer János Feketeházy. Between 2007 and 2008 the bridge was renovated.
Address: Szabadság-híd

Margaret Bridge (Margithíd)
The Margaret Bridge was built between 1872 and 1876 and has the shape of a Ypsilon. It was planned by the French mechanical and civil engineer Ernest Goüin (1815-1885).
Margaret Bridge is one of the older bridges in the city with stone pillars. The bridge is 637 m long and 16 m
wide.Address: Margit-híd

Megyeri Bridge
This altogether 1,862 m long and quite new motorway bridge was inaugurated on September 30, 2008 and connects the districts of Buda and Pest. This cable-stayed bridge forms an important part of the M10 ring road. The design for this futuristic bridge comes from the Hungarian Mátyás Hunyadi.
Address: Megyeri híd

Northern Railway Bridge
The Northern Railway Bridge was built between 1892 and 1896. It was destroyed during the Second World War and opened again in 1955. In 2008 the bridge was extensively renovated.
Address: Északi vasúti összekötő híd

Petöfi Bridge (Petöfi híd)
The original Miklós-Horthy Bridge between Buda and Pest was built between 1933 and 1937 according to plans by Hubert Pál Álgyay and destroyed in the Second World War. After its reopening in 1952, it was given its current name after the Hungarian poet Sándor Petőfi. The total length of the bridge is 378 m.
Address: Petőfi-híd

Rákóczi Bridge
The Rákóczi Bridge (formerly Lágymányos Bridge) was built between 1992 and 1995 to relieve the Petőfi Bridge. The bridge is 494 m long and 35 m wide and is used for cars, bicycles and pedestrians.
Address: Rákóczi híd

Rákóczi Bridge

Parks and gardens

Island The approximately 2.5 km long and 500 meters wide island is the most popular inner-city recreation area. In addition to beautiful parks and gardens, there are sports fields, indoor swimming pools and various medieval building remains, such as church or monastery ruins.

Park (Városliget) Another popular recreational area is the City Park, which was created at the end of the 19th century. On the 1 km² area there is a lake, various cultural institutions, an amusement park, the zoo and the Széchenyi baths. Furthermore, in the middle of the park is the picturesque Vajdahunyad Castle, which was built in the medieval style at the end of the 19th century. Inside is the Agricultural Museum.

Folk Grove (Népliget)
The largest park in the city was created in the 1860s. Today there are meadows, flower fields and monuments next to the wood.

Zoological-Botanical Garden

Zoological-Botanical Garden
The facility was founded in 1866. The animal enclosures were built at the beginning of the 20th century. The zoo is now home to lions, polar bears, birds of prey and other animals. For those interested in botany, there are tropical plants in the palm house and various plants to be seen along the paths.
Illatkerti körút 6-12
Opening times
May-Aug.: daily 9 am-7pm, April and September daily 9 am-6pm,
March and October daily 9 am-5pm, Nov-Feb. daily from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

The Danube

The Danube flows right through the city. Buda is on the left bank of the river, Pest on the right. Incidentally, with a length of 2,888 km, the Danube is the second longest river in Europe after the Volga. At Donaueschingen, the two source rivers, the Brigach and the Breg, flow together and form the Danube from there on. At 48 km, the Breg is the longer of the two source rivers and rises at an altitude of 1,078 m near the Martinskapelle near Furtwangen in the southern Black Forest. From here to the mouth of the Danube in the Black Sea, its length is 2,888 km. The second source river, the Brigach, has its source in the Brigach Valley near St. Gallen, also in the southern Black Forest. It is 42.7 km long to its confluence and flows through Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Serbia and Romania. For Croatia, Bulgaria,

In addition to Budapest, there are also the following major cities on the banks of the Danube:
Ulm, Ingolstadt, Passau, Regensburg, Linz, Vienna, Bratislava, Novi Sad and Belgrade.